Newbie here exploring TrueNAS options

Charlie Lo

Dabbler
I'm truly a newbie when it comes to NAS. I have watched a few YouTube videos about NAS and been looking through some prices of Qnap and Synology but the price just seems too steep for beginners. So, here I am exploring TrueNAS if it's a viable option for what I need.

Here's a few things I want to have in the TrueNAS options.
  1. Minimum storage capacity is around 40TB
  2. Speed should be at least 10GbE
  3. Able to share with least 2 to 3 people at the same time
  4. Run Plex media server if possible
  5. Able to be backup by Backblaze to the cloud
I welcome suggestions/recommendations in hardware specs that would work with TrueNAS. Since I'm a beginner/starter, I'm aiming mostly on used/second hand rack mount server, switch, and enterprise hard drives. I have seen a couple YouTube videos using Supermicro rack mount server for their NAS. What other options are there? Does TrueNAS work relatively well with Supermicro server? What should I be looking for when purchasing hardware to be used with TrueNAS? At this stage, I like to gather all the information and prices to make a decision.

Many thanks in advance.

Alecmascot

Guru
So it is 8 years since you started to look at FreeNas/TrueNas......
Are you just back to troll us ?
Got to the resources section and start reading.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
What should I be looking for when purchasing hardware to be used with TrueNAS?
Intel NIC
LSI/Broadcom HBA for SAS/SATA controller... NO RAID cards!
ECC RAM (implies CPU and motherboard that supports it)
non-SMR (i.e. CMR) SATA disks
Simple SSD like Kingston A400 for boot pool media.
Intel Optane for SLOG if you read up on that and understand that you need it (you may not if your workload isn't sync writes... seems the case from your post)
IPMI is good to have

Does TrueNAS work relatively well with Supermicro server?