New X11SSM-F build

Status
Not open for further replies.

moelassus

Dabbler
FreeNAS noob here. I've been reading the contents in the forum for about a month and based on my research I landed on the following configuration.

SuperMicro X11SSM-F Motherboard w/ Intel Xeon E3-1240V6 CPU
64GB (4 x 16GB sticks) of Micron DDR4 2400 Unbuffered ECC RAM (from the SuperMicro tested RAM list)
Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W Power Supply
(5) Five 4TB WD Red Hard Drives (RAIDZ2)
(2) Two 8TB Drives Mirrored for Time Machine and other PC/Mac backups.
(2) 32GB SandDisk Fit USB Flash Drives for boot (the 32GB SSD I wanted was back ordered)

Being impatient, I immediately lept into installing FreeNAS on the device. It worked well initially, but then proceeded to lock hard after about 10 min. My mind immediately lept to a memory problem so I ran memtest86 and it would get about 5 min in and just hang solid. I called SuperMicro and they suggested to upgrade the firmware. I told him I wasn't even going to try that while the system was freezing as I was sure to brick the board. His second suggestion was to dial back the speed of the RAM. This caused an immediate improvement in system stability and it has not locked up since. Memtest was able to complete 20 iterations with no errors.

This board is supposed to support 2400 speed RAM. I've since gotten the confidence to upgrade the BIOS. It remains stable but I have not tried to increase the RAM speed.

At boot up however, the board generates a series of beeps that concern me. The first set of 3 beeps occurs at the point of USB initialization. The manual undicated that it beeps a number of times equal to the # of USB devices connected. There are three USB devices connected so that makes sense. There is a fourth single beep that sounds more like the normal start up beep. Can any other X11SSM owners confirm that they get beeps at USB initialization?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler