New to TrueNAS SCALE

Nodrog

Cadet
I am new to TrueNAS SCALE but have used FreeNAS in the past.
I have installed 12.04 and I am trying to configure it.
I have 2 existing Samba-AD servers, and my aim is to have the SMB shares, authenticated against the AD.
Therein lies my problem, I can set Credentials to the AD, enable Kerberos, enable SMB, etc.
But when I create a SMB share, it looks and acts like is only has the Linux Permissions, and does not show any ACL's
EG:-
truenas# ls -al /mnt/my_test_pool
total 2
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 3 May 6 13:05 .
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 3 May 6 13:02 ..
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 2 May 6 13:05 windows

And checking from a Windows Box, it only shows the Linux Permissions.
Therefore my question is :-
What is the exact procedure that I have to follow to achieve my aims.

Nodrog

Cadet
MorganL, Thank you for your reply.

I have read the Release Notes, and saw that SMB & NFS Shares, AD/LDAP Directory Services were listed under Verified (with the possibility of minor bugs), also noted the NFSv4 ACL under Experimental, not realising that SMB ACL's were part of that, now it has been pointed out, I see the relationship, the NFS ACL are required for the SMB one to work.

Therefore I need to watch the Nightly, and download & install the ones that have these updates in.

Nodrog

Cadet
MorganL, a bit of background info.

The reason that I am trying SCALE is:-
I am currently using FreeNAS 9, and wanted to ungrade to the latest, with new hardware. (O/S not upgraded for carious reasons).
Initially I attempted to install FreeNAS 11.3_u5 on my new system, the installer failed with a system reboot during the hardware renumueration.
I then tried TrueNAS Core, with the same result, although I could install FreeBSD 11.3 & 12.0

I did initiate a post asking for help on this problem, but did not receive any responses.
I may have posted to the wrong group:- https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/freenas-11-3-u5-fails-to-install.88170/

morganL

Captain Morgan