New to NAS. Help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raresoul

Cadet
Hi all!!

So i'll try to make this specific as possible.

I'm a videographer & editor. I also run a small organisation where we create content. I've reached the point where storage is becoming an issue so one of the solutions i've been looking at is building a NAS running FreeNas.

In terms of my requirements, I want to build a media server mainly for storing/logging footage/files with decent transfer speeds locally and remotely. I will eventually want to ensure editors have remote access to the files on the server to download and edit and then uploading it once done. I may also want to look at the possibility of encoding via the server but this isn't a necessity right now.

In terms of form factor, i've been considering the Fractal design NODE 304 so i'd like hardware recommendations around ITX boards. I've been getting mixed reviews around durability of standard motherboards vs server motherboards.. soo... I'd like come clarity on thaht if possible.

I'm not limited to ITX but it's an initial preference. I'm looking to have some seagate ironwolf pros or WD reds NAS HDD up to 16TB run in a suitable raid set up. I'll probably begin with 8-12TB.

I'm looking for suggestions on the type of:

PSU

CPU

MB

RAM

please provide rationale for suggestions. I don't want to spend a lot. I'd say my budget is £500 excl hard drives. But i'll push more if needed.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
In general, it's hard to find good, high quality, high performance mini-ITX stuff. It's mostly hobbyist or enthusiast grade stuff.

There's a good hardware guide floating around here somewhere. I also suggest that it's a good idea to look at how iXsystems builds the FreeNAS Mini, and that's also a good way to go if you want to buy something that's just plug-and-go.

kdragon75

Wizard