Help on M-ITX setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emiliano.87

Cadet
Well, I'm new at this, willing to learn. And I want to learn by trying. I'm building a NAS for my home. Just bought a Lian LI PC-Q08 MINI ITX case. And I'm having trouble deciding wich mobo+processor I should buy. I'll be updating the thread as soon as I'll buying the components, maybe this thread will help someone like me.

The Case:

Lian LI PC-Q08 MINI ITX case

It has room for six 3.5" drives.

The Motherboard:

The thing is I can't decide wich motherboard to buy. I'm between these two:

ASUS P8H77-I

GIGABYTE GA-H77N-WIFI

The thing is, the asus one has 6 sata connectors wich is ideal for the build I want to make. But the gigabyte is much cheaper and it has dual ethernet connectors, WIFI, etc. Are the dual connectors worth it? I'm kind of a noob in the subject. If I connect the two ethernet into a router and set it up right do i get more bandwith for the NAS?? If I go with the gigabyte, I will have to buy a pcie sata card, is it slower than normal connector??

Thanks for the space, and thank you for your time. Looking forward to become a good member of the community

Stephens

Patron
Only you know whether you need the on-board WIFI and cheaper price of the Gigabyte. Dual connections usually aren't a deal breaker. If you're stuck on trying to use dual for more bandwidth, you need to do some reading on this forum. It's been covered quite extensively that you can't just throw together dual connections and get twice the bandwidth. Google "FreeNAS LACP". I'm also not sure I'd start buying pieces before I know how all the pieces fit together.

Emiliano.87

Cadet