BUILD ITX I3 or DTX ATOM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emiliano.87

Cadet
Hi, I'm building a FreeNAS home server, and after researching a lot i got stuck with two options. Since I'm new with this I need help deciding wich way I should go.

I already have the case (Lian Li PC-Q08) that fits ITX and DTX form factors motherboards. And a dual port PCIE intel dual port server adapter (link). The thing is I don´t know wich way to go. I'm between this two builds

ASUS P8H77-I + CORE I3 3220

or go with this atom board

ZOTAC NM10-DTX

The thing is, the first one is double the money, but I think it can handle better with the processor power, and max 16GB RAM. In the other hand, the ZOTAC one is cheaper, and it provides an extra expansion slot, so i think in the future if I want to upgrade to a bigger case I get a SATA controller in that slot and go up the number of hard drives. But the thing is the RAM capacity of the board is 4GB.

What should I do?? I'll start with 2x1.5TB and 2x3TB disks and get the other two later. Is it an overkill to get an I3?? What about the power source?? In my country it's hard to get low power ones, I already have one laying around, a pc power & cooling 610W Silencer or something like that, Do I have to buy one with less power or I can run it with that one without wasting electricity??

Thanks for your help

warri

Guru
Hello,

So I've got the Zotac NM10-DTX. The Atom CPU delivers sufficient performance for home usage (max 2 simultaneous users), BUT has some drawbacks. First of all DDR2 RAM - it is very expensive nowadays, and the board is officially limited to 4GB (altough 8GB seem to work as well) - which is the absolute minumum for reliable ZFS. Then I doubt that the CPU is able to handle encryption with sufficient performance. So I would definitely go for an i3 if I had to chose again.