new to building a computer

Hi,

I am new to building a computer but I thought it would be fun to try to build a FreeNas server in my limited free time. I would like the computer to mainly serve as a media server (Plex) but would also like it to be able to backup my wife and my computers.

I've glanced through the hardware recommendation guide and have developed the following list of parts:

Supermicro X11SSL-F
Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5
SuperChassis 731i-403B
Crucial 16GB DDR4-21300
I have already have the HDs.

Before I purchase these pieces, I thought I would check with the exerts to make sure these components would work well together and see if I'm missing anything. Thoughts? Thank you in advance for the help.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I haven't checked the chassis, but that's a side issue. have you considered used hardware for the cost savings?

That's a good idea. I am definitely open to it to help save costs.
My first build I went all new, my second build I went all used except memory and HDD. I don't regret either but my wallet certainly appreciates the used build. :)

SuperChassis 731i-403B
How many total drives to you need and want in the future?

Also, what will you use for the boot drive(s)?

Bozon

Contributor
I have a question about that case. It seems like a huge case for only 4 drive bays plus a couple of 5.25 bays. Can you get expansion cages to hold more drives? I looked around but didn't see anything.

Thank you for all the feedback and questions. I really appreciate everyone taking the time to help me. :)

My first build I went all new, my second build I went all used except memory and HDD. I don't regret either but my wallet certainly appreciates the used build. :)

Good to know and will keep that in mind, especially with a young family.. :)

How many total drives to you need and want in the future?