Building a FreeNAS in 2017

Status
Not open for further replies.

nine09

Cadet
I am going to build my first NAS with FreeNAS and I have done a lot of research on what hardware to get. Still, since this is my first build I am a little worried that I might miss something. The main thing I want to use my NAS for is Plex, and sharing videos with my family across households.

These items are based on the fact that I live in Norway, so not all hardware is available here.

KVR21E15D8/8 - Kingston ValueRam DDR4 2133MHz 8GB ECC

I chose this because it supports ECC. However it is not "registered/buffered" and I do not know this is important.

BX80662E31275V5 - Intel Xeon E3-1275 V5 Prosessor

I chose this because it supports ECC and Intel says on their site that it is good for "HD and UHD video transcoding" and it has a high operating frequency which is great for Plex transcoding. It also has integrated graphics so I don't need to buy a dedicated GPU.

CP-9020090-EU - Corsair RM550x 550W PSU

I have good experience with Corsair and my current PSU is dead quiet. 550w seems enough for my build. Not sure if this is "good enough" quality though.

WD60EFRX - WD Red 6TB 3.5" NAS HDD

Based on what I have heard WD red are some of the most reliable HDs for a NAS. I also have great experience with WD.

C236A WORKSTATION - MSI C236A Workstation, Socket-1151

I chose this motherboard mainly because none other were available. However it does support ECC RAM (I think), Xeon CPUs and it supports GPU in the CPU. It is not too expensive and it has enough SATA ports.

Let me know if you think this is a good way to go or not :) I can't wait to get started!

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I am going to build my first NAS with FreeNAS and I have done a lot of research on what hardware to get. Still, since this is my first build I am a little worried that I might miss something. The main thing I want to use my NAS for is Plex, and sharing videos with my family across households.