New setup and replicating music from FreeNAS to local macbook

Status
Not open for further replies.

windyboi

Explorer
Hi all

I'm a newbie but have spent a couple of weeks researching before installation to make sure I am doing things right. I would like some clarification on my use cases for FreeNAS and how best to implement some of them please.

I am installing FreeNAS on my HP Microserver with 16gb ECC RAM and 4x1TB WD Blue drives
I will be setting up as a RAIDZ1 - making sure to scrub fortnightly, and setting up smartmontools for monitoring drive health.

I plan to utilise the built in plugins:
- Crashplan
- Transmission
- Plex
- Possibly Couchpotato for my movies
- Bacula (is this what I should use for time machine backups and Windows backups?)

I will follow some forum guides for how to install and configure these plugins, as well as how to use OpenVPN for routing Transmission traffic through.

What I would like to do is download .torrent files of films or music on my macbook, and then somehow get these to start downloading in Transmission on my server, in /downloading. What is the best way to do this? A lot of the time, I don't want to download all files in the torrent, so I will need to access the transmission GUI I suppose to tick which files I want.

Then, this is what I would like, if it is possible:

After download is complete:
IF Movie:
- Move to /films for seeding, and accessible by Plex for watching

IF MP3:
- Move to /music for seeding, and also I want to get these songs on a local iTunes on my macbook. Best way probably to do this is to have some sort of share folder called /new which Transmission writes to as well as writing to /music. I can then access this from my mac and drag and drop into iTunes then delete from /new.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty