How to access Firefly & MiniDlna on Other devices

Status
Not open for further replies.

prateek9000

Cadet
Hi Guys,

I am really a Noob to Free Nas. This is my third day since i just started my FreeNAS. I have just not been able to build a server with Transmission, Firefly & MiniDlna. I have followed the steps given on

http://lifehacker.com/turn-an-old-computer-into-a-do-anything-home-server-wit-510023147

to setup my server.

Now my questions are as follows:-

1) How do i access All the videos and music on my other computer in the network. Is iTunes the only way to do it. and if iTunes is for music what can be done for video streaming.

2) How do i access both the music and the videos on my Android and my iPhone/iPad in the same network.

3) i have 3 Samsung led tv with WiFi & dlna built-in can i access all the music and videos on the same

hope you guys don't mind me probably asking such basic questions.

Thanks a lot for the replies and the help
Prateek

Knowltey

Patron
Ugh Lifehacker.

Turning an "Old Computer Into a Do-Anything Home Server with FreeNAS 8"

is basically guaranteed to be below the minimum requirements for FreeNAS. The minimum requirements for FreeNAS require a minimum of *GB ECC RAM. I can pretty much gaurantee that your "Old Computer" doesn't have a motherboard, and processor that supports ECC as well as actual ECC RAM, unless your old computer just happens to be purpose built to be used as a server.

prateek9000

Cadet
Hi Knowitey,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes i have a old Core 2 Duo E7500 2.93 MHz Processor with DDR2 RAM ( as of now 4 gb) if the system works i will upgrade it to an 8 gb ram. My motherboard is Asus P5KPL-VM/S.

Now what is the best thing i can do with this system. and how can i run firefly minidlna and transmission on iPhone/iPad/Andriod 4.3+ system.

Thanks a lot
Prateek

cyberjock

Inactive Account

prateek9000

Cadet
Prateek,