NEW NAS FROM A Z600

Status
Not open for further replies.

from Area 51

Cadet
Hello to all, I am very new with NAS, I was searching online for one and I saw that you can build one from a old computer, i have one and the specs are:

INTEL XEON E5504 TWO SOCKET @ 2.00 GHZ
MAINBOARD 0AE8H C INTEL 5520 REV 13
RAM 16 GB TRIPLE CHANNEL
VIDEO ATI FIREPRO V7750 1GB VRAM
KINGSTON SV300S37A120G for the OS

i have only 2 bays where i can put 3.5 inch HDDs, I was thinking two of my external Seagate HDDs, but they are already 3 years old, I think I would buy 2 WD RED HDDs. it would be much good for the system.

So what do I want from my NAS?

I am a photographer, I have 18 tera of drives in my new main system on which I am working on, 2 X 4 TB wd purple, 1 x 2 tb wd red, and 4 x 2 tb external Seagate, I would like the NAS to be my sharing platform where I share my photos with my clients (like dropbox) and from time to time movie clips (not that big files). i was thinking of buying 2x10 tb wd gold, to backup my 4 external drives and the remaining space to be sharable.

I have installed FreeNAS 11in virtualbox on this system is working okay but I don't know to configure it for now. Is the system okay, are there plugins for a photogallery like dropbox or something like that?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
No,
I have installed FreeNAS 11in virtualbox on this system is working okay but I don't know to configure it for now.
I would say that this is less than ideal, but we can make some suggestions if you are interested.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I will guess that you actually want something with some redundancy, so that the loss of a drive does not destroy all your data. That means you need more drives, if you want to be able to put all your data (18TB) into the NAS.
If you are on a really tight budget, you might be able to put the system board from the system you have into a chassis with more drive bays.
What are your plans for the system?