Recommendation for specific hardware config

commandante

Cadet
Hello all,

I am new here and I am also new to FreeNAS.
I already have the bellow pieces of hardware.
Please advise me how to use them wisely.
Mainly, I need to know the right type/combination of RAIDZ for the disks I have in order to get the best balance between space/speed/redundancy/scalability.

The scope of the project is to build a NAS with following functions:

Private/family cloud for personal pictures and movies (2 - 4 TB) - Very important
Small business relative critical data, small database and office files (1 - 2 TB) - Very important
One Windows 10 VM, low resources needed (1 TB) - Not important
Other non critical misc. files (1 TB)

So, redundancy is kind of important, especially in the cloud zone...

The hardware:

CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-9100 CPU @ 3.60GHz
MB Dual M.2, 8 x SATA, Dual Intel® Lan, Gigabyte - C246M-WU4-CF
2 x 16 GB DDR4-2400 (1200 MHz) ECC Unbuffered Samsung - M391A2K43BB1-CRC
750W 80 Plus Gold certified Gigabyte Power Supply- GP-G750H
NO PCI RAID CARD

1 x SSD 2.5", SATA III, 120 GB, KINGSTON V300 - SV300S37A120G
1 x SSD 2.5", SATA III, 240 GB, KINGSTON A400 - SA400S37/240G
1 x SSD M2, SATA III, 128 GB, SAMSUNG - MZNLF128HCHP
2 x HDD 3.5", SATA III, WD 12TB, HGST Ultrastar He12 - HUH721212ALE600
4 x HDD 3.5", SATA III, WD 4TB RED - WD40EFAX

Thank you in advance!

Etorix

Wizard
You should have asked before buying…
The PSU is oversized, but that won't hurt.
The mix of drives is puzzling. One 120/128 GB SDD as boot drive; there would be little point in mirroring it. One 240 GB SSD, too small for a 1 TB VM.
HDDs would best be of similar size for one RAIDZ2 vdev: That's the minimal geometry for "important" data which should not be lost.
  • All HDDs in one Z2 vdev wastes the 12 TB drives, but is already large enough for all data. "Scalability" would be replacing all 4 TB drives by larger ones. No good solution for the VM here.