New FreeNAS setup, unable to keep Time Machine working. + Sophos

Status
Not open for further replies.

WMWAz

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS. I have set up a HP Gen8 Microserver with an IBM compatible LSI 1015 SAS/SAN card. 4 3T drives in one RAIDZ volume with 2 datasets to eventually be used to back up two different Macs. FreeNAS-9.10.1-U2.

The initial system I want to back up is an iMac running Sierra 10.12.1.

I was using a different Time Machine solution prior to the upgrade to Sierra (Drobo). Since the upgrade to Sierra and integration with the FreeNAS server, I have been unable to keep Time Machine running.

I followed the afp setup instructions found and set up a user account matching the iMac, the afp service, sharing, etc.

Using Finder, I do the Connect to Server and select the afp:<ip> service and provide the username/password that matches both the account I am logged into on the Mac as well as the user account I created on the FreeNAS server.

Using Time Machine preferences I Select Disk to the served dataset.

I see the initial backup kick off and run (hours as I would expect for my configuration). The backup appears to complete successfully. Reporting Partition shows space being used in the dataset I expect.

Once that initial backup has completed, Time Machine won't do another unattended backup. I will look at the Mac in the morning and it appears to be "stuck" on Preparing Backup. I kill that backup and allow Time Machine on its own time, initiate another backup. If I am still using the Mac, the backup is usually successful. However, once I leave the Mac, the next backup appears to get stuck again on Preparing Backup until eventually it won't back up at all even when I kill the backups, reboot the file server and reconnect from the Mac.