BUILD New Build Review & Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZ_Pete

Cadet
Hello All,

I've been doing a LOT of reading and research and have finally put together the components for a FreeNAS server. I'd appreciate any advice and feedback from the FreeNAS Brain Trust. :)

My plan is to build a FreeNAS server for home media (movies, music, photos, etc) as well as system backup images, backups of software code (I'm a software developer) and general file sharing.

Data integrity and reliability is the most important priority followed by storage capacity & performance. I'd like a very quiet system as this will be housed in my home office. I'm also keeping an eye toward future expansion (mainly adding more hard drives).

I plan to build a RAIDZ2 with six 3TB WD Red drives for a total capacity of ~12TB (minus overhead).

Motherboard
  • SuperMicro X10SL7-F
  • SuperMicro X10SLL+-F
  • Essentially these two boards are the same except that the SL7 provides 8 SAS ports. Each of these boards has 6 SATA ports which will work fine for my number of drives. From my reading in the various posts, I understand I could attach a Sata hard drive to a SAS port. However, is this as simple as connecting a Sata drive to a regular Sata port? Or is there a lot of adapters, configuration and hassle with getting a Sata drive to work in a SAS port? If it's fairly straightforward (and reliable!), then I'd opt for the SL-7 and use the SAS ports to add more drives later. If not, then I'd go with the SLL+-F and add an HBA Sata card later for drive expansion. Thoughts?
RAM
CPU
Video
  • Since it's a server, I'm just using the integrated graphics on the board/processor.
Power
Case
  • Fractal Design Define R5
Storage Drives
  • Western Digital 3TB Red NAS drives (x6)
Boot Drives