New and in need of help

Status
Not open for further replies.

HIPPOLICE

Dabbler
For starters I am a complete noob to FreeNAS and networking in general honestly, and I'm hoping the community can help me along the process. So I’ll start at the beginning... Work was throwing out some old server towers and I snagged a couple to use for a NAS. They’re sporting Intel Xeon quad core processors, 8 GB memory, and currently I'm using the HDD's that were already installed. (I got 2 identical systems) I took the drives out, formatted them and tested them with crystal disk mark/info and they are all complete junk... (One has “2 currently unreadable sectors” and the other one has “8 offline uncorrectable sectors”) that said, I’m running FreeNAS on one of the old crappy drives (if everything works I will buy better drives). I have a pack of thumb drives coming in the post tomorrow and I will install FreeNAS on one of those and keep it on the internal MOBO usb port. Hopefully that will solve some issues... I will update tomorrow.

Now with that out of the way; I’m getting the message “bge0: watchdog timeout – resetting” and I also can’t see the FreeNAS box on any of the networked computers. I can only see the router under the network tab of the file explorer window and I cant even see the other PC’s. So from what I’ve gathered the timeout issue is the NIC on the MOBO timing out and I assumed it was a hardware issue? So I swapped the drives into the identical system and I’m getting the same message at the same frequency… so maybe not a hardware problem? I’m stumped here and being new to it all doesn’t help. I’m completely self-taught and I learned everything I know about computers from YouTube and the internet. PLEASE HELP!!!

Also, the other PC’s in the house are all running win 10 and I can ping the NAS box via command prompt from the other networked PC's but still cannot see it in the file explorer...

Both boxes are HP Proliant ML110 G6

Last edited:

kdragon75

Wizard