Need some advice with (upgrading to) 8.2 (final; when it's done).

Status
Not open for further replies.

HHawk

Contributor
Hi guys,

I have a few questions regarding my current FreeNAS 8.03 and upgrading to FreeNAS 8.2 (when it's final, not beta).

I am running FreeNAS 8.03 now with Sabnzbd, Couchpotato and Sickbeard without problems. To install these I followed a tutorial from the website "fantechtic" (http://blog.rogee.nl/).

Now as soon as FreeNAS 8.2 final is released I will probably make the switch, because of the plugin ability. However I am still quite new to FreeNAS (and Unix in general), so I have a few questions.

Question 1:
I think it's best to do a complete fresh clean install when FreeNAS 8.2 final is released, because of the plugin ability right? That way I would be able to update any used plugin much easier, right?

Question 2:
I am currently running 6 x 2 TB harddisks in RaidZ2. If I do a clean fresh install of FreeNAS 8.2, will I lose any data? How do I make the new install detect the current configuration of the 6 harddisks? In the past with clean fresh installs, sorry for sharing this, I did it pretty stupid. I copied everything to an external 1 TB harddisk and after the installation, I copied everything back. However nowadays I am using a lot more storage, so it would be impossible to do this way again. Certainly there must be an easier way, right?

Anyone interested to help me out?

Brosif_My_Nif

Explorer
HHawk,

Question #1:
I am running 8.2 Beta 2 right now. I am going to do a clean install when it's out of Beta just because, but you'd probably be fine doing an upgrade though the GUI just the same. I am also looking forward to the plugin abilities.

Question. #2:
You can import your pool through the GUI. No need to copy all your data first and then copy it all back.

If I were you, I'd make an ISO of 8.2 when its finally released, backup your configuration, do a clean install, import your pool, restore your configuration.

HHawk