Need guidance on build

Status
Not open for further replies.

JJack

Cadet
Hello all,

I'm new to FreeNAS (expert in linux and windows environments) and I'm new to NAS boxes in general (although, I always have a data redundant RAID solution on any machine that I build). I would like your help for choosing the best option for my needs. There is great diversity in opinions and needs for NAS boxes. I'm trying to decide if it's worth the money for my use cases.

Design requirements: quiet, low power. This machine will be strictly a repository for data. No ripping. No bit torrent. No media capabilities for this device. Only data access over wifi.

Use case #1: Editing photos over wireless via Macbook Air (very large files from DSLR) with Adobe lightroom. She will also be editing HD video filmed with the DSLR. My wife uses external USB hard drives right now. I recently bought a TP-LINK Archer C7 AC1750 (to replace my aging WRT54G router). Is editing large photos over wireless practical? Or will it be inconveniently, excruciatingly, prohibitively slow to save/load in comparison to her current external HD solution? If the answer depends on the hardware of the NAS, then please see build below.

Use case #2: Editing .WAV files with Audacity. Is it practical to edit .WAV files (mixing/mastering tracks) over wireless internet? Basically, same question as use case #1 but with (sometimes huge) .WAVs instead of huge image files.

Use case #3: Playing MP3s and Movies (avi, etc.) using a remote PC.

Basically, I'm interested in a redundant array which is accessible from Windows, linux, and Mac: a centralized location for all of my data and my wife's data. The NAS machine will be expected to do essentially no heavy duty processing. Do my use cases even require a custom NAS? That is, do I really need to spend ~500-800 (before HDs) to have a centralized location for large photo and large audio files to be remotely accessed and manipulated? Or...