Nagging concerns and questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigMike

Dabbler
I run FreeNAS at home - my system is perfectly stable and performs well. I am not a sysadmin expert but I do read the forums and have accumulated some nagging questions/concerns I wish an expert here could answer for me. Here is the question set in no particular order:

- how would I know if ECC memory is finding, or has found or corrected a problem? Does FreeNAS monitor this, or is that something I should be watching for somehow? If so how?
- I originally installed FreeNAS 9.x, upgraded to Corral, and then fell back to 9.x, then upgraded to 11.0 ... I wonder if installing plugins, Docker installs, and now jails and plugins again has left any residual file structures on my system. If I am willing to delete my current plugins and jails before moving to 11.1 soon, where would I look to see if there are plugin or jail (or Docker remnants from my Corral adventure) in my file system that could be deleted?
- I boot from a mirrored pair of 16GB USB2 memory sticks. Am I correct that FreeNAS 11.x now writes data to the boot drives (log files)? Is this about as dumb as ASRock watchdog memory writes killing their own motherboards (well, the USB sticks are easy to replace anyhow...)? Could/should these logs be moved to a data volume, or does that violate a desire to keep system and users data separate?
- where is system swap file stored? If the drive where swap is stored fails, what happens to the system and my data?
-
Note: My FreeNAS system is very close to being a clone of a FreeNAS mini - the ASRock C2758 miniITX, 16G ECC memory, 4 x 4TB WD Red drives. Running 11.0U4, plex server plugin and logitech mediaserver in a jail.

Last edited by a moderator:

wblock

Documentation Engineer