BUILD My 8 disk build and PSU options

Status
Not open for further replies.

J8K

Cadet
Hi all,
It is time for me to build a new freenas box. My current setup is a HP N54L with 16gb ram and 5 wd reds in a raidz2. I have been using it now for 4-5 years, no issues so far. :)

My new build: (already ordered)
Cpu: i3 6100
MB: Supermicro x11ssh-ln4f
Ram: 2x16gb crucial ecc udimm
Hdd: 3 more wd reds
Boot: mirrored usb sticks

My plan is to build a 8 disk raidz2.

Do you see anything wrong with this setup?

And to the final question...PSU?
I have read the guide for the sizing of power supplies.
I really like the EVGA G2 power supplies, have a 1000w already in another pc that Im thinking of using. (1 month old)
Is it a big overkill to use the 1000w in my build? Should i aim for something smaller?

I have a plan to add a m1015 and move my virtualized nfs storage to the freenas box sometime in the future, but not right now. It is 6 disks configured as striped mirrors. Would the 1000w be to small here? (8+6 disks)

I have three options as I see it:
1. Use my 1000w
2. Buy a ~650w psu (evga or seasonic) (and upgrade when/if needed)
3. Buy something 1000w++ to meet future expansion requirements.

Hopefully you guys can help me to decide. :)

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Is it a big overkill to use the 1000w in my build? Should i aim for something smaller?
It can't really hurt and it'd be wasteful to get a smaller one just because.
Would the 1000w be to small here? (8+6 disks)
No, it would still have plenty of headroom.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Hi all,
It is time for me to build a new freenas box. My current setup is a HP N54L with 16gb ram and 5 wd reds in a raidz2. I have been using it now for 4-5 years, no issues so far. :)

My new build: (already ordered)
Cpu: i3 6100
MB: Supermicro x11ssh-ln4f
Ram: 2x16gb crucial ecc udimm
Hdd: 3 more wd reds
Boot: mirrored usb sticks

My plan is to build a 8 disk raidz2.

Do you see anything wrong with this setup?