Multiple concurrent reads of same file(s)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm totally new to FreeNAS but am considering building a NAS box using it. I run a small 3D visualisation company and currently have a Qnap NAS which is a few years old. I'm wondering if building my own box will solve a limitation I think the Qnap one has:

When rendering 3D scenes with 3ds Max, and also when rendering multiple variations of the same video in After Effects, I often have a number of PCs all accessing the same reference files at exactly the same time. At times I find rendering slow to start and I wonder if the Qnap NAS has a limit to how many devices can read any one file simultaneously (I understand that NASs allow fewer devices to read a given file simultaneously than a Windows Server for example).

Can anyone tell me if there's a limit within FreeNAS? Or would it be more likely to be a hardware limit? If so, how should I spec a DIY FreeNAS box to try and avoid this issue?

kdragon75

Wizard
I understand that NASs allow fewer devices to read a given file simultaneously than a Windows Server for example
Not sure where you got this from. At work we use NetApp for most of our storage and that supports 40,000+ users and for some applications im sure the same file is read by many clients at the same time. I would love to see a windows server do that from an NTFS volume.

You don't mention HOW the files are accessed. Are you using CIFS, AFP, SFTP, or something else? I'm guessing CIFS (SAMBA). Perhap the Qnap is just undersized. Are you about to log any storage or network performance metrics while your render is starting? Maybe you should be using 10gb ethernet. Ho big are the files being accessed?