Looking for FreeNAS file content search/indexing solution with web GUI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashok Kumar

Cadet
I'm considering building my first FreeNAS system, and I have a specific requirement that I must satisfy. I've searched FreeNAS forums and Google, but I've not been able to confirm whether the FreeNAS platform will meet this requirement adequately.

Specifically, I'm looking for a file content search/indexing solution that meets these requirements:
  1. Server-side search crawling/indexing that can target a file share on NAS
  2. Web GUI for administrators/users
  3. (Optional) User/group based security model (Active Directory integration would be great but is not required)
The search/index feature must be able to examine file contents in addition to file metadata for common file types (e.g. PDF, docx, xlsx, etc.). From what I could tell (and I could be wrong since I'm new to FreeNAS), it doesn't seem like the FreeNAS platform itself or any of its current plugins address my requirements.

On a side note, what I'm looking for definitely exists on these other proprietary NAS platforms:
  • QNAP QTS 4.2 QSirch
  • Synology DSM 6.0 File Station Search
Without diving into the reasons, I'll just state that I'd like to avoid solutions based on QNAP/Synology if possible, but they're an acceptable fallback option if I can't do what I need with FreeNAS. Also, I'm not interested in building a file search/indexing solution based on Windows OS (although I will need to support Windows clients which will be accessing the NAS).

I would consider a standalone open source server solution if it's compatible with FreeNAS file shares. For example, an open source server which can be hosted within a virtual machine (running CentOS or something similar) might work. I'd assume something like that would have the ability to crawl NAS targets and build/update an index in its own internal open source database.