SOLVED Lots of g_dev_taste: make_dev_p() failed (gp->name=zvol/pool/.../...@auto-20131006-010000s1, error=6

Status
Not open for further replies.

BuddyButterfly

Dabbler
Hi,

I am new to freenas and trying to migrate from nas4free. I am getting tons of this errors
when importing a pool

g_dev_taste: make_dev_p() failed (gp->name=zvol/pool/.../...@auto-20131006-010000s1, error=63)

What could it be? It only happens to zfs volumes (all with zvol/...).
Also, GUI is very unresponsive and takes minutes to import and minutes to show snapshots.
I have about 40 datasets, 20 zvols and 9000 snapshots. I am guessing it has to do with the mentioned error. Please see this nas4free thread for detailed information:

http://forums.nas4free.org/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=6712&p=38815#p38815

I would very much appreciate any help.

eraser

Contributor
Did you already install FreeNAS? Or are you first trying to fix your problem with your existing NAS4Free installation before proceeding to install FreeNAS?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Yes, you shouldn't be importing pools from other oses in FreeNAS. It's well documented that it doesn't work well and when it does there's still a significant chance it will work fine until one day when it doesn't. And when you find out things went bad you lost the pool.

My advice is if you want to migrate from NAS4Free to FreeNAS you create a pool in FreeNAS and move your data from your NAS4Free machine to your FreeNAS machine.

BuddyButterfly

Dabbler
@eraser
I already migrated to Freenas. The errors and slow behaviour I mentioned above I also experienced in Freenas.

@cyberjock
I already migrated to Freenas. And yes, I had a bit of hazzle because of the encryption but it went ok. Pool is online, status fine (though, complaining about the features as