Kernel Panic on install (new setup) - "Panic: BIOS smap did not include a basemem segment!"

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to FreeNAS, attempting my first build.

I've configured my hardware as follows:

Gigabyte EQ45M-S2 MoBo
2x 1TB 3.5" HDDs
4x 1TB 2.5" HDDs
ServeRaid m1015 Card (LSI chip)
4GB RAM
16GB USB stick
onboard gig-e NIC & VGA

Due to the way my hardware is set up, I have 4 drives connected to the motherboard's SATA ports and 2 connected to the SAS port 0 on the m1015. The BIOS only gives me the option of setting the ports to AHCI or RAID, but I have enabled native IDE on ports 0-3 (where the HDDs are connected). I also tried without setting the native IDE option, and still got the problem below.

Essentially the system seems to start booting OK, but then very briefly shows the setup screen (with the FREENAS text and options 1-5). I almost immediately goes into a kernel panic, with the following message:

Code:
Booting...
KDB: debugger backends: ddb
KDB: current debugger: dds
panic: BIOS smap did not include a basemem segment!
cpuid = 0
KDB: stack backtrace:
[NOT TYPED DUE TO COMPLEXITY]
KDB: enter: panic

And it gives me a
Code:
db>
prompt.

I've found very little Googling this error, so I would really appreciate a steer on how to move forward.

Thanks!

Jason Hamilton

Contributor
Just a heads up its recommended that you have at least 8GB of ECC Ram. That could be the starting point for your troubleshooting.

Is
Just a heads up its recommended that you have at least 8GB of ECC Ram. That could be the starting point for your troubleshooting.

The docs suggested 4GB minimum, 8GB recommended; I'd really like to avoid purchasing more RAM until I know that's the problem... it would be a real issue if I bought 8GB of DDR2 (since this is an older MoBo) and then found that the board is the problem and I couldn't use it!

Could having 4GB of RAM rather that 8 cause a kernel panic?

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator