KDB: enter panic

Status
Not open for further replies.

ccdanieldb

Dabbler
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
29
Hello all

I need some help. After updating to FreeNAS (11.0-U4) I started getting a strange error. When my box tries to mount my ZFS volume I get (KDB enter panic).

I will add a screen shot below.

I backed out to 11.0-U3 and am able to boot up no problem. Any ideas what may be causing this. I used memtest86 from a ubuntu stick and got no errors on my memory. And as I just stated 11.0-U3 still works just fine.

My system info is as follows

Hostname freenas.local
Build FreeNAS-11.0-U3 (c5dcf4416)
Platform Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 970 @ 3.20GHz
Memory 24537MB
System Time Sun Jan 07 06:03:09 PST 2018
Uptime 6:03AM up 1:38, 1 users
Load Average 0.71, 0.51, 0.57

BIOS Information
Vendor: Award Software International, Inc.
Version: FB
Release Date: 08/24/2010
Address: 0xE0000
Runtime Size: 128 kB
ROM Size: 2048 kB
Characteristics:
PCI is supported
PNP is supported
BIOS is upgradeable
BIOS shadowing is allowed
Boot from CD is supported
Selectable boot is supported
EDD is supported
5.25"/360 kB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
5.25"/1.2 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
3.5"/720 kB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
3.5"/2.88 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
Print screen service is supported (int 5h)
8042 keyboard services are supported (int 9h)
Serial services are supported (int 14h)
Printer services are supported (int 17h)
CGA/mono video services are supported (int 10h)
ACPI is supported
USB legacy is supported
LS-120 boot is supported
ATAPI Zip drive boot is supported
BIOS boot specification is supported
Targeted content distribution is supported

Handle 0x0001, DMI type 1, 27 bytes
System Information
Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name: X58A-UD3R

Handle 0x0002, DMI type 2, 8 bytes
Base Board Information
Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Name: X58A-UD3R
Version: x.x
Serial Number:

Handle 0x0003, DMI type 3, 17 bytes
Chassis Information
Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Type: Desktop
Lock: Not Present
Version:
Serial Number:
Asset Tag:
Boot-up State: Unknown
Power Supply State: Unknown
Thermal State: Unknown
Security Status: Unknown
OEM Information: 0x00000000

Handle 0x0004, DMI type 4, 35 bytes
Processor Information
Socket Designation: Socket 1366
Type: Central Processor
Family: Other
Manufacturer: Intel
Version: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU
Voltage: 1.0 V
External Clock: 133 MHz
Max Speed: 4000 MHz
Current Speed: 3333 MHz
Status: Populated, Enabled
Upgrade: Socket 478
L1 Cache Handle: 0x000C
L2 Cache Handle: 0x000D
L3 Cache Handle: Not Provided
Serial Number:
Asset Tag:
Part Number:

Handle 0x0005, DMI type 5, 28 bytes
Memory Controller Information
Error Detecting Method: 8-bit Parity
Error Correcting Capabilities:
None
Supported Interleave: One-way Interleave
Current Interleave: One-way Interleave
Maximum Memory Module Size: 1024 MB
Maximum Total Memory Size: 6144 MB
Supported Speeds:
Other
Supported Memory Types:
Other
Memory Module Voltage: 5.0 V
Associated Memory Slots: 6
0x0006
0x0007
0x0008
0x0009
0x000A
0x000B
Enabled Error Correcting Capabilities:
None

Handle 0x0006, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: A0
Bank Connections: 1
Current Speed: Unknown
Type: Other
Installed Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0007, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: A1
Bank Connections: 2
Current Speed: Unknown
Type: Other
Installed Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0008, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: A2
Bank Connections: 3
Current Speed: Unknown
Type: Other
Installed Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0009, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: A3
Bank Connections: 4
Current Speed: Unknown
Type: Other
Installed Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x000A, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: A4
Bank Connections: 4 5
Current Speed: Unknown
Type: Other
Installed Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK

Handle 0x000B, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
Socket Designation: A5
Bank Connections: 4 5
Current Speed: Unknown
Type: Other
Installed Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Enabled Size: 4096 MB (Single-bank Connection)
Error Status: OK
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9552 copy.jpg
    IMG_9552 copy.jpg
    327.9 KB · Views: 708
Last edited:
D

dlavigne

Guest
Have you tried installing 11.1 to a different boot stick to rule out that the boot device isn't dying?

If the fresh install works, is the error reproducible when you upload your current config?
 

ccdanieldb

Dabbler
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
29
dlavigne, That was my second thought and what I will be doing just as soon as the backup is complete.

I did confirm that I can start and run the 11.0-U4 version if I pull 3 drives before starting the system. After this with the system running I tried remounting the drives. Then detached the zfs volume and tried remounting the zfs from scratch. This resulted in the same error and hung the system.

When using 11.0-U3 I am not able to update. It just tells me to reboot into 11.0-U4. But I can rysnc to an other system via ssh.

The good news is that the above process should allow me to try a simple update after backing up and pulling the drives. If that dose not work then I will try a new install.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
52
The good news is that the above process should allow me to try a simple update after backing up and pulling the drives. If that dose not work then I will try a new install.

Hello Friend!
I had the same problem KDB: ebter: panic
I can not access anything!
How did you backup before testing?
 

ccdanieldb

Dabbler
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
29
Hello Friend!
I had the same problem KDB: ebter: panic
I can not access anything!
How did you backup before testing?

It ran fine at the time on 11.0.U3. The old startup sequence was available at boot in the grub loader. I started the system made a backup on a separate system via rsync. Then I copied my keys and tossed the USB drive. Not sure if this was required but $7 for pice of mind on a new USB drive... priceless. I reinstalled under version 11.0.U4 and it ran fine for the most part. It was at this time that I started getting an error about "smartd_daemon is not running". I still get that smartd error. Also the error seemed to be caused by MB settings. I do still need to remove 3 drives so at boot the MB only sees 9 drives total including the USB drive. I just cut power to the drives before startup and restore power after grub loads.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
52
It ran fine at the time on 11.0.U3. The old startup sequence was available at boot in the grub loader. I started the system made a backup on a separate system via rsync. Then I copied my keys and tossed the USB drive. Not sure if this was required but $7 for pice of mind on a new USB drive... priceless. I reinstalled under version 11.0.U4 and it ran fine for the most part. It was at this time that I started getting an error about "smartd_daemon is not running". I still get that smartd error.

I just installed version 11 on a new pendrive, everything went well, but when I tried to import the disks it gave that same error!
IMG_7459.JPG
 

ccdanieldb

Dabbler
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
29
I am not sure what is causing it to fail to mount. I would try to mount from the WebUI. Is the volume encrypted? and is the volume Raid 1(striped)?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top