SOLVED Joining an AD (Samba 4) from another network/DNS domain?

CDuv

Dabbler
Hello,

TL;DR: A TrueNAS SCALE server won't join an Active Directory domain that have different name than it's own.

Context:​

I have a working Samba Domain setup where a Samba 4 (v4.13) server (named "DC1") acts as a Domain Controller for domain "sd.int.company-1.com".

I have 2 TrueNAS servers (a SCALE and a CORE, named "NAS1" and "NAS2") running on the same LAN and member of this domain and working just fine (the Domain users are available in TrueNAS's ACL configuration pages and users authenticate on theses TrueNAS server using their domain credentials).

This is on LAN1 (say 192.168.1.0/24) which is used by Company 1 that also has a DNS domain (not SD/AD) "int.company-1.com" (meaning "domain int.company-1.com" in "/etc/resolv.conf" on Linux computers and in DHCP's configuration)

New stuff I need to do:​

I have another LAN: LAN2 (say 192.168.2.0/24), for Company 2's staff, that has no Samba/Windows domain, nor Domain Controller but:
  • the staff of Company 2 do have credentials on sd.int.company-1.com
    (Both company 1 and 2 have separate network in mutual building but are kind of sister-companies)
  • they need a NAS server running TrueNAS SCALE: say "NAS3"
  • their existing DNS domain is "int.company-2.com"
Basically I need my DC1 Domain Controller to be available on both LAN 1 and LAN 2 and capable of accepting domain joins from both LANs.

What I did:​

• Added DC1 on LAN 2: new NIC, plugged on LAN2's switch, configured a LAN2 IP
  • Installed TrueNAS SCALE 23.10.1 on NAS3 (internal FQDN, as returned by hostname -f: nas3.int.company-2.com), on LAN2
  • Can ping DC1 from NAS3 using it's LAN2 IP. And vice-versa.
  • Configured Active Directory in "Directory Services" with the settings I usually use for this kind of operation:
    • Domain Name: SD.INT.COMPANY-1.COM
    • Domain Account Name: Administrator
    • Domain Account Password: (Password)
    • NetBIOS Name: NAS3