iSCSI hung. where are the logs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alan Johnson

Dabbler
Let it be known that I have very little experience with FreeNAS and FreeBSD. I am very solid with Linux and know my way around iSCSI fairly well. I searched and read quite a bit on the forums and in the manual, but have not found anything yet. My apologies if I missed something I should have caught. On to the problem...

Last week, I put FreeNAS 8.3.1-p2 64b on a new Dell R515 (bb01: 6 AMD cores 64GB RAM, 12x 4TB SATA disk + 2 512SSD). (My first FreeBSD install in years.) It was working great for about 5 days until our oVirt hosts (7x CentOS 6 blades running the openiscsi service for initiators) all reported they could no longer communicate with the target about 2 days after I set it up and pointed them all at them. This happened after 11PM, so it is very unlikely anyone was in there mucking with it. I believe I am the only one who has logged in and very confident that I am the only one making changes.

After quite a bit of trouble shooting, I found that the istgt service was hung on bb01. The first symptom was that when I tried to stop the service in the WUI, it just sat there with the spinner spinning and never completed. I could close the services control tab, go back in, and it would show iSCSI as off. When I clicked it again, it just spun again, until I closed and reopened it again to find the indicator set back to on.