Is it possible to copy data from external USB drive ?

Sykotik

Dabbler
As title, Can i copy data from an external HDD drive - straight to the HDD drives within truenas ?

If the USB drive is a ZFS pool? Yes.

Otherwise, you should just copy the files over the local network via SMB, NFS, and/or Rsync.

Sykotik

Dabbler
No it's not a ZFS drive ,

how ever , this i a new pool with no data on at all ,
so i could quiet easy delete the pool and start again .

how ever i would need to remove the external drive afterwards , im guessing this is going to be a problem ??

how ever , this i a new pool with no data on at all ,
so i could quiet easy delete the pool and start again .
I don't understand what that means?

Are you referring to the USB drive or the "pool" on the TrueNAS server?

Delete what pool? The ZFS pool on TrueNAS? Why?

Sykotik

Dabbler
sorry my bad , im new to all this so i will use terms the wrong way :(

its new sever all together,
i have create a Pool so far , nothing else
and started thinking the easiest way to get my data over on to the truenas sever . i have used "USB copy" on synology nas's and it works great , - no need to use SMB and windows.
So i was wondering if TN has some thing similar ?

you mentioned if the drive was a ZFS pool then i could be done , how would i go about doing this ?

So i was wondering if TN has some thing similar ?
Short answer: no

You'll need to resort to using SMB, NFS, or Rsync over the network to copy from the USB drive to your TrueNAS ZFS pool.

you mentioned if the drive was a ZFS pool then i could be done , how would i go about doing this ?
That's irrelevant now. To make it a single-drive (non-redundant) ZFS pool would require wiping all the existing data on the drive itself.

NugentS

MVP
By far the best way is to mount the disk in a different machine and import across the network

Sykotik

Dabbler
Ok thanks guys

webwalker

Cadet