Is fresh written data immediately in the READ cache?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Axel Mertes

Cadet
Hi All,

I tried to search the forum, but maybe I simply did not find the right words for the search, so I ask via this new thread. As I am new to ZFS and I want to understand prior to final installation the following:

Is fresh written data immediately in the read cache?

As we are working in content creation, we produce a big load of fresh data per day that is usually be required to read immediately after writing (think of image sequences being rendered, then played for review). For this scenario its very helpful if any fresh written data is automatically available from the read cache.

Is that the case with ZFS?

If not, is there an easy way to accomplish this?

Best regards
Axel

cyberjock

Inactive Account
The question is to ambiguous to provide an answer. It will be cached, as long as other requirements don't result in it being discarded such as the file being so big it doesn't fit in the RAM, etc etc etc.

Axel Mertes

Cadet
Well, then I'll try to get more precise:

Say we have a 32 TByte pool made out of 16 TByte vDevs.
Add 4 TByte for ZIL write SSD cache.
Add 4 TByte of L2ARC read SSD cache.
Add 96+ GByte of RAM.

I write an image sequence of say 50 GByte and want to play it afterwards. The SSD cache size is designed to be at least 2-3 times bigger than all aggregated read+writes on a single average day together. The idea is to feel like we never run from disks but SSD.

The point is:
I understand that ZIL and L2ARC caches are completely independent systems, so that data landing in a write cache isn't necessarily in the read cache as well.