Is Freenas the right choice for me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NiKa

Cadet
My hellos to all of you.. :)

I ve been a Windows user since ever..
My NAS consists of an Adaptec 71605h and about 14 drives (2tb-4tb)..
all my disks are NTFS.. (ofc - windows)

I use my server to stream media to my XBMC player (Photos, videos, etc)..
Using NFS Server ...

also i use Stablebit Drive Pool in order all my disks to be seen as one..

I have no experience with linux.. and i really dont like raid (dont shoot me please :) )..

What i really like would be an OS with minimal resources to provide me:
a) NFS
b) NTFS combatible? (i read that Freenas uses ZFS - so if possible to convert all my drives to ZFS)
c) DrivePool - Drive Bender ability (all drives to be seen as one)
d) JBOD... (no raid if possible please)..
e) Easy to setup - use

Is Freenas to deliver all the above?
or should i look for something else? - if there is an alternative ?

Thank you for your time
Nicolas

danb35

Hall of Famer
FreeNAS can certainly provide NFS services, and ZFS makes it trivial to combine all your drives into a single pool (that's its default, and preferred, mode of operation). However, the way that ZFS does that is to stripe all the drives together, similar to a RAID0 configuration. This means that when (not if) a single drive fails, your entire pool is destroyed. You can mitigate this by creating multiple pools (3 disks in one pool, 3 more disks in another pool, etc.); in this case, loss of a disk will still destroy all the data in its pool, but that wouldn't be all of your data system-wide. Of course, that's contrary to your goal of all the storage being in a single pool. What do you have against RAID? Yes, you'll lose some capacity, but you'll gain redundancy and data protection in proportion to the capacity loss.