Install going horribly wrong somewhere - mountroot problem followed by GRUB rescue

Status
Not open for further replies.

B4utrust

Cadet
So, to begin with I am completely new to FreeNAS and *nix in general and unsure what I'm doing wrong to get these problems.

I've downloaded the latest release of 11 to install. Currently I'm downloading 10 to see if that may fix my error separately. However, that aside I've set my mobo to boot from USB. I has successfully detected both the boot USB with the iso written to it and the empty USB that I intend to install to. The iso was written with Rufus as an ISO not as a DD.

I've booted into the install up until the point I can select between FreeNAS Installer and FreeNAS Installer (Serial Enabled). Since I'm attached to a monitor through HDMI and have a USB keyboard plugged in I selected the basic FreeNAS Installer option.

It then proceeded to do what I'm guessing is the install, requiring no more input from me until a few minutes later it dumps me to a mountroot prompt. I can pull a list of devices using the ? command though any mount command I've tried has given me negative results, usually something along the lines of invalid file system or similar(sorry, not looking at that screen right this second to confirm exact wording).

I attempted to reboot and removed the install drive to see if maybe it got far enough to boot. I attempted to utilize the mountroot fix listed in the instructions but it never gets that far as I'm left with a prompt of
Welcome to Grub!
error: file '/boot/grub/i386-pc/normal.mod' not found
Grub Rescue:

After this I have no clue what to do. I've formatted both drives again on my win10 desktop and reran Rufus to write the ISO to try again. Same exact circumstances. As I said I'm downloading FreeNAS 10 and may see if I can get 9.3 still to see if either of those may work better for me.