Install FreeNAS on 2008 mac pro

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jab2870

Cadet
Hi, I am new to FreeNAS and BSD in general so my apologies if I'm missing something obvious.

I have been given a 2008 Mac Pro that has been upgraded quite a lot and I thought could be used as a storage server, mostly because it can be upgraded a lot.

It currently has 8GB of ram and I have another 8 ordered that should be coming soon. I have 3 6TB drives to work as my main storage (I thought probably raid 5) and a separate 2 TB drive that I am not sure what I'll do with yet.

I have got 2 16GB USB drives for the OS.

I created another memory stick with the install media and tried to boot to it.

I have rEFInd installed on the mac which found the memory stick but when I booted to it, I got the following message:

Code:
error: no suitable video mode found.
Booting in EFI blind mode
Press any key to continue...

When I press a key on the keyboard, nothing happens, I have to force shutdown by holding the power.

Following advice gleaned by googling etc. I tried installing FreeNAS onto the memory sticks using another computer which I did, choosing the EFI option when prompted.

This seems to have worked successfully and was able to boot of these on a different computer.

After plugging the memory sticks back into the Mac Pro, rEFInd discovers them and boots to them, I am then presented with a grub screen where I can choose to boot into normal, single user or verbose mode. All three result in the same error I had when trying to install FreeNAS using the Mac Pro.

Thank you in advance for any help you are able to provide.

Last edited by a moderator:
Try installing FreeBSD directly to a drive in the mac and see if it works.

I will say this however, more than likely you will not be able to do VM's with Bhyve since that is likely a xeon 5462 which will not support the software. Performance will be less than stellar as well.