HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 (Celeron Dual Core)

Status
Not open for further replies.

TehJonny

Cadet
Hey guys,

I am completely new to the whole NAS area I have been looking at a NAS for a few weeks now but they are quite expensive I then saw this https://www.serversplus.com/servers/tower_servers/hp_tower_servers/712317-421 and thought it would make a decent NAS?

Am I right?

Currently I am just using my normal computer with a 2TB green drive which is filled with films and tv shows. which is then streamed over the network around my house to 1-3 devices depending on if people are watching.

I am wondering if this HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 (Celeron Dual Core) can run FreeNAS and if it can handle video streaming some 720p content some 1080p. over the network.

I am considering getting 16TB 4x4TB WD red drives but I herd this Server thing only supports up to 12TB so might have to be 3x3TB WD reds. I could be wrong though?

I am also wondering if anyone can tell me what types of read and write speeds I can expect from this in a say RAID0 configuration? or if there is a better type of RAID I should use?

I was also going to get a 60GB SSD to use as the FREENAS OS if thats possible?

Really hope some of you guys could help me out

Kind Regards
-Jonathan

marbus90

Guru
This server supports any SATA drives, you can slap in 4x8TB if you want. It works. Transcoding for non-computers as playback devices would only work well with 1 stream, but if you just open the file in VLC or something, that works. Depending on how important the data is, you ought to configure a raidz2 = only 50% usable. raidz1 might work out for redownloadable media files, ZFS would tell you which files have been corrupted during a rebuild (z1 only has 1 parity disk, which is not available during a rebuild - a read error on the existing disks will lead to data loss).