HP dl380e G8 - P822 - HotSwap

daftu

Cadet
Hi,
I'm new in TrueNAS community and trying to get working my first server.
I've HP dl380e G8 with P822 turned into HBA mode.

Attached disk are directly visible in TrueNAS and I can read all disk S.M.A.R.T. informations, create zpools etc.

The problem is with hot swap. After inserting new drive I got following messages in server console:
ciss0: *** Hot-plug drive inserted, Port=5I Box=1 Bay=13 SN=XXXXX ciss0: error detecting logical drive configuration (target status) ciss0: Warning, cannot get physical lin list

Finally the drive is not visible in Disk menu. There is no /dev/daX for a new drive.
This is supported SAS WD drive but no matter what drive I hot swap it's not being detected.

After OS reboot the drive is normally available.

Hot Swap is very important in case of disk failure etc. How can I fix this?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
You need to get rid of the RAID controller and replace it with an actual HBA, not just something pretending to be an HBA.

Please visit the following link:

https://www.truenas.com/community/t...s-and-why-cant-i-use-a-raid-controller.81931/

which will explain why "HBA mode" is not equivalent to an HBA and why your controller is not useful. And, to be extra clear, be aware that the measure of suitability to the task is NOT "but I got it to make a pool" -- the ciss driver is total crap for demanding applications like ZFS, and we've had a few people who have lost pools because they didn't follow the advice.

daftu

Cadet
You need to get rid of the RAID controller and replace it with an actual HBA, not just something pretending to be an HBA.

Could you recommend some controller which fit my server and will support all 14 drives? Or I have to buy actually 2 controllers (avoid using expander)?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
https://www.newegg.com/hp-p822-sas/p/N82E16816401945