How to take my ZFS formatted disks from 64bit to 32bit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dixioldie

Cadet
Hello,

I have build a RAID1 system (with 2 disks) on new hardware.
I used FreeNAS 8 64bit.
All disks formatted with ZFS.
FreeNAS is on an USB stick.
Due to a problem with the hardware, I got the mainboard changed.
Now, this mainboard is a INTEL ATOM AD2700B-ITX, which doesn't support 64 bit.
Is there a way to change from 64bit to 32bit without loosing all my stored data?
(I booted with the 32bit version of FreeNAS 8, but all the configuration isn't there. So, I made a shutdown without changing any setting)
I'm new to FreeNAS, even I'm more then 60 years old, so, maybe, my question is silly for experienced users.

Thanks in advance for any help

joeschmuck

Old Man
Your data should be in tact and all you need to do is create a new USB boot drive (save the old one in case you need it) and load up the 32 bit version of FreeNAS (which I believe you have already done). I don't believe the user configuration files are compatible so you will need to basically reinstall FreeNAS from scratch and change the Admin password, setup your NIC (if it not DHCP), and all that. When it's time to import your pool, use Auto Import Volume. It should find the pool and you will select it and bring it in. Once that is done you can create your shares.

Dixioldie

Cadet
Hello joeschmuck,
thanks for the fast response!
I'm very nervous about loosing all my data.
(it's the family pictures and movies over 30 years)
Is "autoimport" a safe function, which will not destroy all data?

I didn't had the chance to make an additional backup due to the hardware problem.
Ii just finished to save successfully the data from an other damaged system, before the new main-board must be changed. bad luck)
I also didn't find any way to read the content of this ZFS formatted disks with Linux or Win7.
Is there a way to read the content of a ZFS formatted disk?