How to set up FTP to use the correct harddisk ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SP2005

Dabbler
I have installed my first FreeNAS server and activated the FTP part, which works just fine.

I have FreeNAS installed on a 1TB harddisk, and have added a 2TB harddisk, which I have done in the volume settings.

The FTP server keeps saving the files on the 1TB harddisk, but I want the FTP server to use my 2TB harddisk. I cant find any settings, where I can tell my FTP server to use the 2TB harddisk.

Anyone who can help ?

- Kim -

Last edited:
D

dlavigne

Does the "Path" you have set in Services -> FTP point to the smaller disk?

SP2005

Dabbler
I can't choose anything there. The only "folder" I can select is "/" which seems to be the harddisk that FreeNAS is installed on. I can't select or write anything, that points to my big harddisk (2TB).

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Have you actually created pools?

SP2005

Dabbler
I'm new to FreeNAS, so I don't know what pools is. I'll have to google that first.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Just read the manual conveniently linked in yellow at the top of the page...

And, while you're at it, cyberjock's guide, linked in my sig.

SP2005

Dabbler

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
If you haven't configured the disks to be in any sort of array, how do you expect to use them?

SP2005

Dabbler
Well. I have added the harddisk to FreeNAS using the Volume manager.

Looking at the guide http://doc.freenas.org/9.10/storage.html# I can see that I actually did create a "pool", when I formatted the harddisk using the volume manager. I just didn't know, that it was a "pool".

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Please provide the FreeNAS version and your hardware specs.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
And how are you using FTP? Anonymous or user based?

SP2005

Dabbler

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Thank you, but signatures don't show up in Tapatalk.

Your OP says a 100GB drive, but your signature says 1TB.