How to recover my freenas drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steven E. L.

Cadet
Hello all,

Sorry if this has been asked,

I'm new to Freenas. Around one and a half to two years ago, I tried installing Freenas to an old computer, and hey, it works. I installed it into a USB drive, and used an old hard drive for the data. I forgot what version of Freenas it was (since I cannot access the Freenas anymore). I used ZFS filesystem for the data.

Then, I just kept adding files to the Freenas data drive, and not paying any attention, suddenly the Harddrive was full (160GB). I cannot even delete files anymore from it (supposedly need freespace even to delete). Now I should have copied all the files to another computer right then, but I didn't. I tried to restart Freenas, and it did not want to boot. From then on, the Freenas computer would not boot at all.

I tried to take the Freenas data harddrive out can access it in another computer, just to salvage the data, but I found out that Windows cannot read ZFS filesystem.

So, what is the best way for me to get my data back right now?

Thanks in advance

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
Well, you did so many things wrong that you'll be really lucky if you can get your data back.

First: why use ZFS with a single drive? it defeats the whole purpose of ZFS.

Second: ZFS is a copy on write file system so it needs some free space to delete data, you shouldn't have exceeded 80 % usage, let alone 90 %.

Third: you didn't make any backup. No excuse, at all.

To finish: I can guess this system is probably an old desktop (so no ECC RAM, crappy MB and PSU, ...).

So, to answer the question: take another USB stick, reinstall FreeNAS (the same version you used before) and try to import the pool.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
What you need to do is get new USB, install freenas 9.3 probably, try importing your pool using the GUI.

Bidule0hm

But if it was on 9.1.* I don't think it's a good idea to jump right to 9.3, no?