How to only allow vpn connection for transmission

Status
Not open for further replies.

Supersonical

Dabbler
Hey!

Sorry, I´m a total noob when it comes to freenas and all functions around it!

But here goes my quesstion, I have successfully setup transmission with OpenVPN and it´s working great. But since I cannot trust that my VPN provider will always have a stable connection i would like that my jails firewall only allows connection out via the VPN provider and nothign els. I have followed "jerrybme" awseme guide but it requires me to know my providers ip range to work. My provider doesn´t share their IP range due to security reasons. So the question is what kind of options do i have, if their is any.

Link to the guide i have used to setup my transmission.
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...-a-jail-so-it-only-connects-to-the-vpn.18669/

Supersonical

Dabbler
Were you able to find an answer for this?

Nope, not yet. I´m doing manueal checkups every day to see if the vpn is running. Which is absolutly not the most secure way fo doing it. If my VPN goes down I´ll be totally visable :(

I hope somebody out their has the same problem and has found a solution for this :)

Tom_

Explorer
What about using ipfw to restrict all traffic to the tun/tap interface?

Supersonical

Dabbler
What about using ipfw to restrict all traffic to the tun/tap interface?

that was exactly what i was thinking but i dont know how to setup the ipfw to do that, i´m at work now. Will post my ipfw file when i get home. Maybe you can help me/us. :)

Another qustion is, if that´s possible to do why isn´t that the general practise. I mean why go the length and digg upp VPN providers ip range etc. o_O

hmm when i think about it, if the tun/tap link is down, is it even possible to connact to the vpn provider?

Tom_

Explorer
I can try to help, but I'm not a networking or security expert so don't blame me if the FBI (or even worse, GEMA) knocks on your door.