How to make server accessible outside home network?

mathboy3141

Cadet
Hello, FreeNAS community!

I am completely new to FreeNAS, file servers, forums, building and understanding computers, and pretty much everything that I need to understand how to use this software. (So you are going to have to explain everything to me in very simple terms, I probably know what you are talking about, but don't presume that.)
Yay!
So, anyway, I have been reading how to make a file server accessible within my home network and as of this moment I have 34 mins left to go to download the FreeNAS .iso bootable (I have very slow internet).
I was wondering if it is possible for an amateur like me to be able to make a web server that I can access from anywhere across the globe.
Is this at all possible, and is it simple to do, or am I going to have to change hidden configuration files and all that jazz?

Thanks!
mathboy3141, the kid who wanted to know

P.S. I have a static IP, don't know if that matters. I also have a No-IP account for computers that don't have dynamic. Cheers!

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
It is possible, but not simple and it puts the NAS at risk of being hacked by bad people on the internet.

melloa

Wizard
I was wondering if it is possible for an amateur like me to be able to make a web server that I can access from anywhere across the globe.

Do you mean access your files/server from the internet or a actual web server? They are two different things. As @Chris Moore said, expose your server and files directly to the internet is not recommended.

Solutions like Owncloud, Nextcloud, etc, are good way to access some of your files;
Web server? See Apache, nginx or applications like WordPress, ISPConfig, etc.

rvassar

Guru
Assuming you have the typical DSL/router combination... You could punch a hole in your router's firewall, and allow port 80 access to a jail running on FreeNAS that hosts web server. It's not a very good idea, here's why: