How to implement daily backup from Windows Server to TN hot-swap SATA drive that is taken offsite 5 days/week?

TillmanR

Cadet
INTRO: Hello TrueNAS community, this is my first post, though I have been using the forum as my main source of tech support for TrueNAS Core since mid-2022. I’m still a TrueNAS noob with zero Linux background and no scripting experience and have barely scratched the surface of TrueNAS/ZFS, only using the most basic local file server/backup repository functionality to date. However, I love learning and I thoroughly enjoyed building, troubleshooting, and configuring my two TrueNAS home-office servers and setting up the iX systems MiniX+ I purchased in mid-2023 as an onsite backup repository for my client, a small law office.

ISSUE: Sometime in 2024 I’ll be replacing my client’s Dell T320 Server 2012-R2 domain server with a new Server 2022 box and I’d like to expand the role of their TrueNAS system if my application is feasible. Note that I am in the Bradenton/Sarasota FL area and thus offsite backups are a mandatory part of our contingency planning. The current offsite leg of our backup schema uses Dell 1TB HDD cartridges written via a DataVault RD1000 drive mounted in the server. 10 cartridges are rotated such that the nine most recent are offsite, with the owner bringing in the oldest backup each day and swapping it with the current backup cartridge each evening before she leaves the office. She brings the newest backup home each night while the oldest cartridge is written over with the coming night’s backups. Backup images are written with Acronis Backup running on the server. The RD1000 was a royal pain to initially get functional with no intervention, and if possible, I’d like to replace it using one of the MiniX+ 2.5” hot-swap bays.