How to acces boot error log

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuoski

Cadet
Im new to this.
Installed FreeNAS. When it boots up, it just restarts at one point, over and over and over again.
Now my question is, how I access the error log. Booted up with the freenas setup and opened console from there.
Tried to mount the HDD, with no luck at all.

So my question, is there any step by step guide how to actually access the error log on the HDD?
And where it actually is? How do I moun and access the HDD where freenas is installed?

joeschmuck

Old Man
Lets start out by first following our forum rules (please read them, link at the top of each forum page) and post the required information we need to assist in helping you figur out what is going on.

As I understand your posting I think you are saying that you can bootstrap FreeNAS up to the Console. Can you enter the Shell?

If you are running on substandard hardware (less than 8GB RAM, Laptop, etc...) then while some of may provide some helpful tips, most of use will not help at all because you would be running a setup which is more likely to fail since FreeNAS was designed to run on Server Grade hardware.

Im new to this.
Read the forums, read the User Manual, you need to become familiar with FreeNAS, it's not an install and forget application.

Good Luck, hope you post back with the needed info.

Tuoski

Cadet
I can access console by booting on the usb stick which i created from the installation image. There selecting console.

I did read some documentation and forum but didn't come across any topics actually showing how to access it when system doesn't boot...

joeschmuck

Old Man
So you are not booting up the actual FreeNAS bootable media but rather the installation media.

How about the other requested data?

Tuoski

Cadet