Hopefully Simple Question: ZFS or UFS for Striped/RAID0 System...

Status
Not open for further replies.

bbddpp

Explorer
I'm new to FreeNAS (just installed 8.3 yesterday) and learning a ton this weekend as I set my system up, but I still in reading for hours haven't seen someone admitting to doing what I am doing, so I am trying to make sure I do the best/right thing here.

I'm going to be tossing a bunch of drives of different brands/sizes into my FreeNAS box as a media server for XBMC and iTunes. I don't care about redundancy or replication. I don't need one big pool of data in a single share, several shares and pools are fine.

I can live with it if one of the many disks fails and I lose the data JUST on that drive. However, what I can't live with is if one fails, and I lose the data on ALL the disks in the NAS.

That said, I think ZFS is out of the question for me, as if I use any form of ZFS, in a RAID0 situation, if any of the 5-6 drives I put in fails, I lose the entire data pool. I'd love to have used ZFS, but I don't have any interest in the lost space due to RAID1/2 nor enough of the same drives to make it work well, anyway.

So, what I think I need to do is simply use UFS, correct? And final question, before I go down that road - If I use UFS in a striped/RAID0 situation, I can still install MySQL on this box via a plugin jail type situation? All the the tutorials I see about creating a jail to run plugins are assuming I have a ZFS file system to create a ZFS database but I'd like to do the same on one of my UFS disks.

bbddpp

Explorer
Upon further consideration, I think what I'm more looking to do is JBOD, so I misspoke about RAID 0. Really I want this system to act the same as a system that I installed a desktop OS like Windows or OSX on, and share out each drive individually.