Help with first FreeNAS home build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr Bacon

Cadet
Ok, so I've been trying to read through posts around here as well as reading through the minimum hardware specs and the recommended hardware guide. I think I've got it figured out, but I'm not experienced at all with server hardware. So I'd definitely appreciate some input from others.

I'm planning to use it to store media files (movies, tv shows, photos etc..). I'm not really concerned about space or noise as it'll be in a different, unused, room. I'll be using my gaming computer as the interface between the NAS and playback. I use Kodi for playback on my TV that's directly connected to the gaming PC and I have Plex set up as well for playback on phones and tablets or for when I'm not at home.

Parts:

• Board: SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRL-F Server Motherboard LGA 2011 R3
  • Processor: Intel Xeon E5-1603 v3 SR20K 2.80GHz 4-Core 10MB LGA2011-3 CPU Processor
  • Memory: 2x of Hynix HMA41GR7MFR4N-TF 8GB DDR4 Pulled from the motherboard's recommended memory list page here. I'm open to others, these were just the ones I found easily available.
  • Hard Drives: I'm planning on using 4x 6TB WD Reds. I know my memory selection doesn't follow the 1 gig to 1TB rule, but I'm hoping I can get away with it since it'll essentially just be a file server.
  • Power Supply: I haven't quite decided, but I'll probably pick up either a SeaSonic or an EVGA. A 500W unit should be plenty, but I may go higher to get better efficiency and/or cooling setup. Seems like the lower the wattage the poorer efficiency you can get. I'd definitely like to pick up a UPS at some point too.
  • Case: I'm planning on reusing an old case I have, a CoolerMaster HAF X. The 200mm or so fan on the front should hit all 4 drives, but I know I can add more 120mm fans to the front as I expand in the future.
  • Boot Drive: I'll probably use my secondary SSD from the gaming rig. It's a 250GB Samsung 850 EVO