HELP PLEASE! :) Cron <root@freenas> /bin/sh /usr/local/sbin/save_rrds.sh

Status
Not open for further replies.

John Richardson

Explorer
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to all this so this - but I have had freenas running for some time and I'm trying to learn as much as I can on my own... but this one has me stumped (probably pretty easy for y'all!).

Anyways, I've been getting these output emails from Freenas - like one an hour or so....

Subject:

Cron <root@freenas> /bin/sh /usr/local/sbin/save_rrds.sh

rm: /data/rrd_dir.tar.bz2: Read-only file system
mv: rename rrd_dir.tar.bz2.58340 to /data/rrd_dir.tar.bz2: Read-only file system

Do I just need to go into the terminal and sudo on those actions that Freenas is trying to complete - or do I need to adjust some permissions somewhere so that it can do this stuff going forward?

Thanks in advance for your help!

John

jgreco

Resident Grinch
/data is not supposed to be read-only. Something may be wrong.

What version of FreeNAS are you using, and what hardware, especially the boot device?

John Richardson

Explorer
Asrock C2550D4I, 4 WD 3Tb, and the boot device is just a little thumb drive plugged into the mobo.

Version of Freenas =
FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201503200528

John Richardson

Explorer
I've used the thumb drive for a while (and I've rebuilt the machine a couple of times) - never with this issue though.... I have been playing with linux in a VM on freenas - I wonder if I did something when trying to mount the shares in linux?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Well, waitaminit...

/data isn't used for storing RRD's on 9.3. That's supposed to be over in /var/db/system.

But the script still refers to the file being over in /data. Hm.

In the new ZFS model of things, the root partition (which holds /data) isn't read-only.

Does this persist if you reboot? And if so, reboot, then log in, type "mount", and show us the results for root. Like this:

Code:
# mount