HELP!! NextCloud Stopped listening/talking unless I add users to wheel group.

beroldb

Cadet
Hello and good day to you.

A new adventure for me, which sometimes feels like it's turning into a nightmare. Indulge me please, it seems like a long story, and it may be, but if you want, skip to the last line and, excuse the pun, that is the bottom line.

So, here's what's going on and I'm hoping someone will be able to shed some light on the issue for me.

Full disclosure - I have limited knowledge and am only just coming to terms with FreeBSD cli. As well, I have not yet developed decent 'muscle memory' which means I often have to revisit information I've already looked at to find the commands that are appropriate.

I have a functional installation of FreeNAS on a Certified FreeNAS Server. 32GB of RAM and 6 x 2TB drives. I'm running FN 11.2 Stable and NC 14.0.4 Stable. The installation is meant to support a LAN of Windows PCS which is a mix of desktops and laptops in a 25%/75% ratio.

Here's an idea of the structure
FN Storage/Data Set ->/mnt/tank/Directory/Users
FN Users - User1, User2 etc.
FN Groups - UserGroup

User set up - Primary group - UserGroup; No auxiliary groups defined. Directories & Permissions; Home directory is pointed, correctly, to Data Set (/mnt/tank/Directory/Users/User1 etc), Microsoft Account is checked.

Share - SMB/CIFS - Path is pointed correctly to Data Set - no items are checked, valid users are User, admin, @SysAdmin

So far, so good. Off I go to the NC.
Add the users so that they mirror the users in the FN (case/passwords/etc).
Moving on, off to the External storages - Folder name is unique (by choice), External storage is "SMB/CIFS", Authentication is Username and password, Configuration = Host is FN local IP, Share is "share name" from SMB on FN, Username and Password mirror the FN user.

And here's where it gets weird, really weird, and I'm hoping for some help to understand.