Help needed for configuration

Fredetchic

Cadet
Hi!

I’m new to NAS and this is my first attempt to build a DIY NAS. I’m in Canada so keep that in mind for suggested parts (sometimes not avail in Canada and currency + custom fees may be prohibitive) ;)

The reason why I’m not buying a ready-to-go NAS is that I have an old PC I underuse (or that actually works as video storage), and another that I will dedicate to photo editing. I know it certainly won’t be perfect but keep in mind that this if for family use! Also, budget is limited!

So, here are the specs and uses I would like to have for this NAS.

• Using existing computer parts. Some can be upgraded but except if my “needs” are unrealistic, don’t tell me about buying new MOBO or so.
  • Main use: giving access to HDD on devices on my LAN (TV, android tv box, PCs, Cellphones) for movies, music, photos, files (pdf, words, etc…)
  • Not intensive use: I would say from time to time for big files (movies) and light regular basis for documents (word, pdf…)
  • Backup (RAID equivalent or archiving depending of files) for some files only (don’t care that much to lose movies or music for example)
On occasional basis (rarely) if possible, having access to these files over Internet (cloud-like, even though this is more a ready only access) like photos or maybe movies (last one is really an extra, not intended to be a must-have!)

My actual parts available:

Mobo: ASUS P5Q Deluxe
  • 6 SATA 3.0 Gb/s ports
  • 2 x PCI Express 2.0 x16 slots, support ATI CrossFireX™ technology at x8 link (* PCIe x16_1 blue, * PCIe x16_2 black)
  • * Blue one is used for graphic card but can get a ride of it if needed I guess after setup!
  • * Black one = not used
  • 1 x PCI Express x16 slot at max. x4 link (black) = not used
  • 2 x PCI Express x1 slots = not used
  • 2 x PCI slots = not used