1 of 4 new HDD not recognized

dubya

Cadet
Bit of a long story, apologies. I'm brand new to TrueNAS or NAS technology at all, haven't dabbled in tech (computer insides) for almost a decade, so a bit rusty.

I have some older hardware (XFX MB-N780-ISH9 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI motherboard, 4-core CPU, 8Gb RAM) with a new cheap Kingston 240Gb SSD and 4 brand new WD Red 4TB drives.
I have TrueNAS installed on the SSD and had it running with 2 test SSD's (Kingston 240Gb; only to test the concept of a NAS) a few days ago. I just acquired the 4 WD Red 4TB drives. I put them in the case and hooked up to the motherboard (replacing the 2 SSD used for testing only), but only 3 are being recognized in the BIOS.
I have tried different SATA cables and different ports, so I think the hard drives are all good (they are brand new, so makes sense). For some reason the BIOS is only picking up 3 out of 4 HDD drives. Even when I disconnect the 240Gb SSD, it still only picked up 3 of the 4 HDD.

I do not have an HBA, just using the onboard controller on the board. It has 6 SATA ports.

If this is not the right place to ask, I'd appreciate some advice on where to find answers (some googling didn't result in anything useful).

Any advice on what I could try to diagnose the issue and hopefully fix it?

Motherboard: XFX MB-N780-ISH9 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
8 Gb RAM
4-core CPU
240 Gb Kingston SSD
4 x 4Tb WD Red drive
630 W power supply
EVGA e-GeForce 9800GTX PCI-E graphics card

Thanks!

NugentS

MVP
What happens if you move the disks onto different ports - does the fault move around. Can you tie the fault to a particular HDD or a particular port?
Your hardware is err on the old side - low memory, no ECC, DDR2 but I guess you know that.

dubya

Cadet
What happens if you move the disks onto different ports - does the fault move around. Can you tie the fault to a particular HDD or a particular port?