Hello to all :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwelch007

Cadet
We (well, technically my employer, so, the "Royal We" :) just purchased a NAS device from iXSystems, it arrived yesterday, and appears to be working wonderfully! Was literally plug-and-play, which was exactly what I wanted. We purchased the device to be used as a target for Veeam Backups and Shadow Copies from Windows VM's, for which it seems very well suited IMHO.

That said, I'm totally new to FreeNAS, so I'm bound to have some configuration questions that I hope you won't be opposed to assisting me with if you can. As I grow in knowledge, I hope I can re-contribute to the community by helping other new users.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Welcome to the forums @kwelch007
First suggestion is to burn in the components before anything else. If your employer is wanting to place the new hardware into immediate production, your job is to warn them of the risk of doing so.
While the burn in process is ongoing you can take that time to read the FreeNAS documentation, cover to cover at least twice! Make sure the SMART testing recommendations are followed and the alert email is set up to the person that will admin the NAS. If possible, avoid using encryption on the pool UNLESS the admin is thoroughly versed in failed drive recovery with an encrypted pool before using this feature in production.
Please also note that in a business environment, FreeNAS is anything but plug-and-play IMHO :)

joeschmuck

Old Man
Welcome to the FreeNAS Forums.

Please read our forum rules and when posting a question, please try to include any possible details you can think of. If you forget something, don't worry, we will tell you about it.