Hello! Studying FreeNAS for possible installation here

Status
Not open for further replies.

twelve12pm

Cadet
Hi All!

I'm currently reading through FreeNAS documentation and I've joined the forums to (you guessed it!) ask lots of questions!

We are a small organization hoping to grow.

I find FreeNAS intriguing because it offers the possibility of starting small with virtually endless room to grow in the future, as our needs and hopefully our budget will allow. :smile:

Currently I'm studying how to set up a central file server for our organization. In addition to simply storing files, we need it to host our Subversion server which implies storing our repositories. FreeNAS may fit the bill since it is based on FreeBSD and therefore any software can be installed. I think the larger FreeNAS Mini might fit the bill, and that's the possibility I'm studying right now. One little caveat: I've been away from FreeBSD and system administration since FreeBSD 4.0, so I'm a *little* rusty. :smile:

I'm sure the forums will hear from me quite a bit as questions arise...

Have a great day,

Redcoat

MVP
I think the larger FreeNAS Mini might fit the bill, and that's the possibility I'm studying right now.

Welcome to the forums.

If you search here for Asrock C2750D4l (the mobo of the two Mini versions) you'll find that many members here (including me) have experienced issues with that board, mainly related to temperature and/or the chipset bugs related to the watchdog and the Atom processor.