Having clients on WiFi

Status
Not open for further replies.

ertank

Explorer
Hello,

I am new to FreeNAS. Currently using 11.2-BETA3. No jail, no VM, just windows file sharing on RaidZ2 with LZ4 compression on.

I have to physically put the box in a separate room in my home in order to have cable access to my TP-Link WR840N router. My house is an old one and there is no network cable infrastructure. Clients are laptops. I personally am using heavily my desktop on same WiFi. I am using that system alone during day-time. No multiple users during work hours. My main usage is application development. I am using Delphi for my software development needs and my bottleneck is compiling them as Delphi generating big EXE files. My projects they are around 74MB in single EXE size.

I found a thread with iperf test and I tried to use it with same parameters for testing my cable network speed using my laptop when there is nobody accessing FreeNAS and results are as following:
C:\iperf-2.0.9-win64>iperf.exe -c 192.168.1.2 -p 5001 -f m -w 128k -P 2
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.1.2, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 0.12 MByte
[ 4] local 192.168.1.109 port 14728 connected with 192.168.1.2 port 5001
[ 3] local 192.168.1.109 port 14727 connected with 192.168.1.2 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 4] 0.0-10.0 sec 56.9 MBytes 47.7 Mbits/sec
[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 56.9 MBytes 47.6 Mbits/sec
[SUM] 0.0-10.0 sec 114 MBytes 95.3 Mbits/sec

C:\iperf-2.0.9-win64>iperf.exe -c 192.168.1.2 -p 5001 -f m -w 128k -P 1
[ 3] local 192.168.1.109 port 14735 connected with 192.168.1.2 port 5001
[ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 113 MBytes 95.1 Mbits/sec

My test on my WiFi is slower but not with a big margin:
C:\iperf-2.0.9-win64>iperf.exe -c 192.168.1.2 -p 5001 -f m -w 128k -P 2
[ 4] local 192.168.1.106 port 61454 connected with 192.168.1.2 port 5001
[ 3] local 192.168.1.106 port 61453 connected with 192.168.1.2 port 5001