BUILD Hardware recommendations needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

LukeL

Cadet
Hi, I've been using Freenas for over two years now and I love it, was made even better when I discovered plex. I'd love to use Plex even more especially that apps are coming to the new Apple TV, but my problem is, my server pulls 90w from the wall at idle, I'd love to bring it down.

It is currently used for plex streaming/transcoding 1080p files to Apple TV, iPhones, iPads. Backups from 2 PCs.

My current setup (2 years+)
CPU: AMD Sempron x2 190 2.50GHz
MB: Asus M5A78L-M LX
RAM: 16GB ddr3 corsair tracer (4 sticks)
Drives: 4 x 2TB Seagate barracuda

PSU: 450W Seasonic SSR-450RT, 80PLUS Gold (bought September 2015)
Case: Bitfenix Phenom ITX Black (can't use until I get a new ITX board as the board I have now is mATX)

My setup as it stands now pulls over 90w from the wall at idle and I'd like to bring this down to around 50w idle, I've seen discussions were this has been accomplished but no mention of hardware they used.

I don't know whether it's my Seagate drives or freenas itself but my drives won't spin down, I know this is a good thing as the drives will last longer but from a power reduction point, I'd like them to spin down as it does spend most of its time idle.

So yes I've struggled to find detailed power consumption info on motherboards and CPUs.
It needs to be ITX with at least 4 sata ports and a low idle power CPU.
Also considering on switching to WD Red drives providing freenas will spin them down when idle.

Thank you in advance!

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Hazwell cpus are noted for their low power state abilities at idle. Any modern hardware will do a much better job
than what you are currently running. Spinning down your drives has been shown to shorten usable lifespan, increase
the cost of replacing failed drives, and there by exceeding the savings of power usage. In short, in most cases, it's not